A dog in autumn

“There is one other reason for dressing well, namely that dogs respect it, and will not attack you in good clothes.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I’ve just noticed that the WordPress “snow” is falling on my blog and that means that these fall photos, taken on October 22nd, are incredibly late…but it must still be fall somewhere, right? Most of the maple trees had lost their leaves by then, except in a few protected areas that provided a colourful background for the yellow dog.

farmhousestories-wordpress-com (1)

Comments
38 Responses to “A dog in autumn”
  1. montucky says:

    Great colors and a very nice portrait. He is nicely color-coordinated with the leaves.

  2. flora says:

    wow love the dog profile pic!

  3. Jo Ann says:

    Gorgeous photos! I notice when the “snow” is falling at WP the bottom of my screen jumps – must be a glitch somewhere.

  4. Sue J says:

    I’ve been out of the blogosphere for a while, but it’s so nice to come back and see your wonderful photos still coming. Love yellow dog. :-)

  5. sybil says:

    Lovely photos and lovely dog ! I find it impossible to walk without a dog. Oh, oh, here comes that snow …

    • It truly is hard to walk without a dog, but as she and I have polar opposite ideas about what to do with wildlife sightings, sometimes I do go out on my own. I must say she is really patient though. We are supposed to have the first real snow coming today. Thanks a lot sybil!

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        How old is she, your “yellow” girl? We had a wonderful red dog with very similar colouring when I was a kid: )
        By the look of those clouds, I’d say it was a dandy – the snowstorm, I mean – and, speaking of which, how’re you doing this year? You’re well, I hope?

  6. seekraz says:

    Beautiful photos…love those rich, fall colors…and what a wonderful companion for your walks, too….

  7. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful Auburn colours!

  8. It looks like you enjoyed a bright and lovely autumn, a fitting backdrop for such a handsome, golden dog! Great Emerson quote!

  9. Lisa says:

    hello cait! the dog portrait is beautiful – you captured such a ‘human’ side to her with that look over her doggie shoulder (possibly spying a potential animal to chase?).

  10. Donald says:

    another set of incredible shots! so glad that you and your companion get out to enjoy natures wonders. can’t wait to see the snow shots, hint hint! happy holidays!

  11. It’s never to late to post (or to view) such beautiful pictures. I’m so glad you did (and I did). :)

  12. sybil says:

    Long time no post. Hope all is well.

  13. Wonderful rich autumn colours and i love the background bokeh to your dog’s pose. BTW thanks for the ‘follow’. Amazing, this all encompassing ‘blogosphere’ so rich and diverse in subject matter. I very much enjoy your literary quotes :)

  14. krikitarts says:

    Hi again, Cait, I’m sorry it’s been so long since you’ve heard from me. I’ve had you listed among my favorite bloggers for nearly a year, and was sure that I’d been following. I’ve wondered, from time to time, why I never saw anything new from you and now I know why. I’ve been missing a lot and am rectifying that omission immediately! I love the shot of the dog with his (her?) eyes closed; I just lost mine six weeks ago. Also the first one of the fading grapes–lovely! -Gary

  15. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

    The colours are so rich and vibrant and I love the dog!

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

