Honey, there’s a walkingstick at the door

© 2010 farmhousestories

© 2010 farmhousestories

We discovered a Walkingstick on our compost container last night, just outside the front door. I can’t remember the last time I saw one, but it’s always wonderful to see them. By morning, it had moved to the wall behind the compost – needless to say, neither of these places offer great opportunities for camouflaging as a “stick” in the daytime.

© 2010 farmhousestorie

© 2010 farmhousestories

Since it didn’t seem to be going anywhere soon, and was a sitting duck there (with no food to eat either – maybe it thought the compost was a good bet!), I encouraged it to walk onto a piece of grape vine, and took it to a bush where it blended in perfectly.

Comments
4 Responses to “Honey, there’s a walkingstick at the door”
  1. donald says:

    i haven’t seen a walking stick in years! thanks for posting the shots.

    i have to say, damn your good! the rain you were sending my way came overnight with a vengeance, knocked out the power and internet for a couple hours, but my garden loved it! thanks.

  2. Cait says:

    Wow! You’re very welcome, but from the sounds of it, I think I should probably work on moderation 🙂
    Glad you liked the shots!

  3. Ahhhhh!! That walking stick is amazing!! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in real life. What a fantastic little creature. I spotted your blog on Nature Tags and I’m hooked, love the photos!!

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

