Red Admiral

I saw this Red Admiral in the field a few days ago, but didn’t have my camera. I read that they are very territorial, so if you find where one hangs out, then most likely you will be able to find it in the same area again. This proved to be true, and it even posed for me. I won’t have internet access for the next couple of days, so I’ll see you when I’m back in cyberspace and leave you with the admirable Red Admiral!


More butterflies at this post: Butterflies are Everywhere.

Comments
8 Responses to “Red Admiral”
  1. donald says:

    BEAUTIFUL!! my gardens have been crawling with monarch’s the last couple days! they seem to especially love my hydrangea.

    hope you are going to be off somewhere having fun! look forward to hearing all about it.

    • Cait says:

      Hi Donald, it’s reassuring to hear that there are many monarchs at your place, too. Yes, I was off having fun (with a bit of work mixed in). Thanks for your comment and good wishes!

  2. I saw this butterfly in the Catskills this past weekend and didn’t know what it was. Now I do! What a coincidence.

  3. Your Photos are stunning, Cait. Thank you for sharing such beauty…and insight.

  4. sandy says:

    I saw the same one twice last week, but am not seeing many other butterflies. You got a lot closer than I did, love these shots.

    • Cait says:

      The numbers are going down here, too. I think there were just so many clovers in the field for the butterflies to focus on – it was hard to get close to them anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

