Six legs and on the move

Green Stink Bug on a green tomato

I thought these insects were beautiful. All from around the farmhouse, there are more photos of the one that was the most willing to be photographed – the Colorado Potato Beetle. It’s the only one I’ve seen all year, and it wasn’t anywhere near the potatoes. The Green Stink Bug (the lone True Bug in this trio) hid behind the tomato leaves after I took this photo, and the Milkweed Leaf Beetle was on the move.

Colorado Potato Beetle

Milkweed Leaf Beetle

Colorado Potato Beetle

 

Comments
12 Responses to “Six legs and on the move”
  1. Barbara says:

    These are amazing pictures! You must have a lot of patience to get just the right shot! So much variety, even in bugs, to delight or senses…

  2. donald says:

    i agree, GREAT shots!

  3. Cait says:

    Thanks Barbara and Donald! Yes, there sure is a lot of variety – so many bugs, so little time 🙂

  4. You would go nuts in the tropics! I only wish I had a macro camera like you and perhaps I could better express the beauty of the insects there.

  5. Cait says:

    I truly would – it’s probably good that I live in a northern country and winter is coming! I really enjoy your photos and stories from the tropics – what an incredible experience. I only realized this summer that my little point and shoot camera had macro settings. I’m looking for a macro lens for my SLR now, but the little camera sure is handy.

  6. Sue J says:

    I never thought I’d enjoy seeing a stink bug, but I’ve never seen one so “up close and personal” before! Well done!

  7. Cait says:

    Thanks Sue, I’d never seen one this close before either!

  8. Sandy says:

    I haven’t seen a potato bug in a long time. You must have a vegetable garden.

    • Cait says:

      Hi Sandy, yes, a small one – and fortunately the potatoes were done. I don’t know what it was up to on the deck where there are only grapes.

  9. Jane says:

    An inordinate fondness for beetles.

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

