The season for meadowhawks

The dragonflies at the cottage were predominantly (very friendly) meadowhawks that seemed more than happy to have their pictures taken. They landed on my hand or camera at times. I’m pretty new to dragonfly identification, but thanks to Sandy at Gardenpath (who has many great posts about dragonflies, among others), I had a starting point in figuring out what they might be. With the exception of the bottom three pictures, I think these are White-faced Meadowhawks – the red ones being the males.

I think these last three photos could be Ruby or Cherry-faced Meadowhawks, but from what I gather, identifying dragonflies is no easy task!

It’s feeling like the end of summer here these days, which has me thinking of this song by the Montreal indie pop band, Stars – 14 Forever (clicking the link plays the song on CBC Radio3).

 

Comments
13 Responses to “The season for meadowhawks”
  1. donald says:

    i think dragonflies are beautiful, and love them even more for their mosquito eating qualities!

  2. Barbara says:

    Me, too! Cait, these pictures are amazing! You got some of them in interesting positions. I particularly like the camera angle of the second one, and its translucent wings. There must be hundreds of species of dragonflies and damselflies… I love watching them in the evening when they swoop across the sky catching mosquitoes. Thanks for introducing me to 14 Forever and a new radio station to listen to. 🙂 “I’ll be back for more…”

  3. Sandy says:

    You got some great shots. They are really hams, don’t you think?
    I am always extra nice to dragonflies, because they just might be aliens!

  4. Beautiful macro shots!

  5. Delicate and irrepressible designs. And you’ve wonderfully captured something of their evocative spirit in the images. Beautiful…

    • Cait says:

      Thanks for your kind comment, and for coming by, Julian! I’ve only had a moment to look at your blog, but look forward to reading more. Beautiful writing and images of nature in your part of the world.

      • Having grown up in Ontario it’s lovely to see some of what passed me by for so many of my younger years! And your images are captivating; looking forward to exploring more of them. Many thanks…

        • Cait says:

          Sometimes we miss the things in our own backyard – which was the case for me, too, until I started taking photos of them. Great to meet a fellow Ontarian!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] The dragonflies at the cottage were predominantly (very friendly) meadowhawks that seemed more than happy to have their pictures taken. They landed on my hand or camera at times. I'm pretty new to dragonfly identification, but thanks to Sandy at Gardenpath (who has many great posts about dragonflies, among others), I had a starting point in figuring out what they might be. With the exception of the bottom three pictures, I think these are White-f … Read More […]



Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

