The pace of nature

The Harvest Moon is shining tonight and tomorrow, with equal parts day and night. As the sun sets, the moon rises, and the days keep getting shorter. Tonight I heard flocks of Canada geese flying overhead, and as darkness fell the crickets started singing. The nights and mornings have been cool, around 8 degrees Celsius, but the days are warm. The woods smell like cinnamon, and there are still bumblebees and Eastern-Tailed Blues flying about in the field. The air feels like summer and fall at the same time, as if it can’t decide. When I get home from work there is usually about an hour of light before the sun sets, so I have been getting some photos in after all, while walking the yellow dog (perhaps my photos will simply get dimmer, rather than sporadic). What’s autumn like where you are? I took these photos throughout the week, but below is the moon rising this evening.                                                                    

“Adopt the pace of nature: her secret is patience.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

I just discovered that folk singer Gordon Lightfoot has a CBC Radio3 page. The only song available to listen to is Inspiration Lady (from his 2004 album, Harmony)–and it is yet another beautiful song in his long and successful career.

Comments
6 Responses to “The pace of nature”
  1. donald says:

    some beautiful shots. we are getting that warm air/cool air battle going on here on the maine coast too. won’t be long before the cool air will win out. the asters are in full bloom and the birds are on the move.

    • Cait says:

      Thanks Donald! It’s so quiet here without the birds, but the Blue Jays and Crows can make quite a scene sometimes. It must be a beautiful time of year on the coast.

  2. Barbara says:

    Wish I could smell the cinnamon scent from your woods! Great collection of autumn pictures – I especially love the second one of the Harvest Moon. My grandmother used to have that Emerson quote hanging in her kitchen. Patience – I could sure use a bigger dose of that these days!

    Our autumn in Connecticut sounds similar to yours, though our colors are not as far along as yours seem to be. We usually get peak color around Columbus Day in October. Sometimes we take a scenic route and drive up to visit Tim’s family in New Hampshire, while admiring their fall colors. But we love to go apple picking and visit the cider mill here. Getting the urge to bake apple things… and go for long walks in the woods…

    In recent years we see the Canada geese flying in formation as if they’re planning to migrate south, but many of them now stay the winter. Not sure if it might have something to do with global warming.

    • Cait says:

      Hi Barbara – thank you, I wish you could smell it too, and I wish I knew what makes the forest smell like that – I’ve always thought it might be poplar trees. Your comment makes me look forward to long walks in the woods, wool sweaters and apple cider warming on the wood stove. I just love your stories about your grandmother, what a fascinating woman!

  3. Sandy says:

    What a wonderful set of fall shots. I love the ones taken with the fence. We must have been out photographing the moon at the same time. I got it the same as in your second moon shot.

    Your leaves are pretty. Nothing that bright here, yet.

    • Cait says:

      Thanks so much Sandy, it’s neat that we got the same shot of the moon. It sure was beautiful. I’m surprised by how fast some trees have lost their leaves here, I hope it lasts a little longer! I’m looking forward to seeing your photos of the leaves when they turn.

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

