Little things in September

These are some of the first photos I took with the new lens I got for my birthday, a gift from my partner. A few new creatures showed up for the occasion–-the planthopper, beetle and butterfly/moth were all in different areas of the porch, and interestingly, they all have the ability to appear to be something they’re not.

First, here’s a much more common sight–a wasp warming up in the morning sun.

I’m usually pretty apprehensive about approaching wasps, but they are slow this time of year. I had no idea they looked so interesting close up!

I think this green leaf-like creature is a type of Planthopper. It was very small, perhaps 1cm in length.

This Golden Tortoise Beetle (a bit smaller than a ladybird) looked like a drop of metallic gold when I first saw it from a distance.

It altered its colour while I was taking pictures–apparently, they turn orange with black spots (resembling a ladybird) when disturbed.1 I was happy to learn that they feed on field bindweed, which is always threatening to take over our property.

You can see how they come by their name with the translucent outer “shell.”

This Lepidoptera (about an inch long) attached itself to a door frame and fooled me into thinking it was a fallen leaf. It spent the entire day there in high winds, facing the wall (its wings had the same pattern on top). I haven’t had any luck identifying it yet. It seemed  like a moth in some respects, but its antennae were thin, like that of a butterfly, and it didn’t rest with its wings open.

And the leaves keep turning. We saw this colourful, maple-lined lane way nearby.

Sources:

1. Texas A&M University, Entomology, Tortoise Beetle: http://insects.tamu.edu/fieldguide/bimg195.html.

Note: The owners of referenced or linked-to materials do not endorse me or this site.

Comments
27 Responses to “Little things in September”
  1. Barbara says:

    WOW!!! Cait, these pictures are astounding! So much detail in this miniature little other world! The wasp seems to have an expressive face and seems to be curious somehow… Wondering what other wonders your new lens will reveal next!

    • Cait says:

      Thanks so much, Barbara, you’re so kind. Yes, the wasp did seem curious, and turned its head to follow me – at every angle, it was looking into the camera. I, too, wonder what else the new lens will reveal!

  2. sandy says:

    I am impressed with that new lens! You got some great photos. I have seen a small gold beetle like that, but didn’t get a shot, so never identified it. Glad to know what it was.

    The trees are stunning. We are just getting bits of color here, nothing like that.

    • Cait says:

      Hi Sandy and thank you! When do trees usually start turning there? I hope to get a chance to go a little north of here before it’s too late, where there’s higher ground to see the colours.

  3. donald says:

    wonderful shots. you must be loving the new lens!

  4. Sue J says:

    Wow! these are fantastic images! Congratulations on the new lens — what a wonderful gift! It’s really amazing the detail you’re able to get.

  5. Woooow! Cait, I am blown away by these photos. That wasp is absolutely stunning – what gorgeous eyes. I can’t wait to see what you photo next!!! Keep up the great work.

  6. PS I’m tweeting this, it’s too amazing.

  7. Absolutely gorgeous!! That must be a macro lens!! I’m glad I stopped by today.

  8. photobyholly says:

    Amazing shots!! The new lens is obviously working out well for you, congratulations!!

  9. Marvi Marti says:

    AWESOME photos! I am allergic to bees and wasps and they creep me out, but I was so taken by the photos of the wasp! And the beetle shell, and well all of the pictures!

  10. Modern Funk says:

    The wasp photos are AMAZING. Wow! I have never seen one so up close before…in person or ih a photo. Beautiful job! I feel like I can touch him through my computer screen. 😉

  11. Astonishing images, Cait! The Golden Tortoise beetle (or camouflage beetle as it might have been called!) is just glorious. Every detail divine….thanks for these wonderful glimpses into a little world.

  12. Cait says:

    Thanks for your lovely comment, Julian, and for coming by! Yes, camouflage beetle would be a great name, too, it really is a fascinating little insect.

  13. giannina says:

    great shots! and i love the wasp.

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

