I heard a wildflower

That’s a lot of pollen, wouldn’t you say? When I headed out to take photos of the asters, I didn’t expect to find this delightful bee.

I wanted to try some close ups of the fall flowers before they fade away for the season, which may be tomorrow from the sounds of the weather report. Soon, the trees will be bare, the landscape will turn to muted shades of brown and gray, and oak, poplar, hickory, beech and maple leaves will crunch beneath our feet.

We will bake things from the wild foods we’ve gathered, like Sue J at Nailing Jello to the Wall intends to do with all the walnuts she collected this summer. Hunters will stalk the deer in the fields and forests around the farmhouse, and it won’t be safe to go wandering for a couple of weeks, as light snow begins to fall, revealing hoof and paw prints that speak of the once hidden journeys of animals.

We’ll start to hear the howling of coyotes once again, and keep the wood stove burning through the night. But for now there are still a few of our most common wildflowers “singing a song” (William Blake).

There are many of these beautiful Purple-stemmed Asters everywhere.

Chickory is still going strong.

Much of the Clover in the field has died, but there is still new growth to be found.

Old Field Aster or Pringle’s Aster (a flower of many names) is plentiful.

I found this Green Lacewing, with its golden eyes, on the clover – they are very beneficial for our vegetable gardens.

There are many insects feeding on the remaining Goldenrod flowers right now and the Striped Cucumber Beetle (which is not particularly beneficial for our vegetable gardens!) is the most abundant.

Yael Wand, a folksinger/songwriter from Smithers, British Columbia, happens to have a beautiful song called, Wildflower, on her CBC Radio3 Page – and the Purple Aster is even mentioned!

“As I wander’d the forest,
The green leaves among,
I heard a wild flower
Singing a song.”
– William Blake, The Wild Flower’s Song


Note: The owners of referenced or linked-to materials do not endorse me or this site.

Comments
11 Responses to “I heard a wildflower”
  1. Sandy says:

    I did the same thing today, but didn’t get the wonderful closeups you did. The lace wing, is it very tiny? I think I saw one earlier in the season, but didn’t get a good shot of it.

    The poem is new to me, I love it. Guess I should be looking through my husband’s Works of William Blake.

  2. Cait says:

    The lace wing was about a centimetre long, but bigger than the cucumber beetle. It was only the second one I’ve seen this year. Neat that you were photographing the wildflowers today – won’t we miss them! Glad you liked the Blake poem.

  3. montucky says:

    Cait, those are simply gorgeous macros, all of them! Outstanding work!

  4. donald says:

    yes, it is sad to see the garden begin to diminish. i picked the last of my glads, dahlias, joe pye weed and hydrangea for an arrangement for my neighbor.

    like always, more great shots!

  5. Cait says:

    Montucky: Thank you for such a kind comment!

    Donald: Thanks, and you know, that’s one lucky neighbour you have! I wish that I had your talent for gardening, your garden has sounded so beautiful all season.

  6. Barbara says:

    The blue chicory is very pretty and I love the way the green lacewing seems to be posing, giving you a sideways glance! I listened to Yael Wands wildflower song – it’s so pretty. Flowers will forever be inspiring poets and songwriters…
    Here’s part of a poem about a flower talking, to go with the Blake one you quoted about the wild flower singing:

    “This is the talk of the flower, the truth of the blossom;
    The glory of eternal life is fully shining here.”
    ~ Zenkei Shibayama

  7. Cait says:

    Barbara, I really like the quote, thanks for adding that and your other kind comments. It’s so interesting to be able to see insects looking back now!

  8. gnarlyoak says:

    What kind of lens do you use?

  9. RATS! Now I miss summer again, haha!!! >:)

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

