October colours

I’m a little behind in keeping up with the fall colours, which aren’t quite as vibrant now as when I took these photos and most of the trees have lost their leaves. I think this has been one of the most beautiful years for the fall colours, and today was one of those perfect crisp, clear autumn days–it is also my dear mom’s birthday. Happy Birthday, Mom! Here’s Quartetto Gelato – click/play the song “Longina” (on CBC Radio3).

This seemed like the Shaggy DA of Tussock Moth caterpillars.

An Eastern Juniper.

Big, noisy flocks of black birds and grackles have been coming through, descending and resting like leaves in the trees.

Comments
12 Responses to “October colours”
  1. donald says:

    just after the leaves turned here on the maine coast, we had 2 very windy rainstorms and the trees were stripped of their leaves. the color was short lived!

    great shots and happy birthday mom!

    • Cait says:

      Oh, that’s too bad, Donald. Your colours were very short lived indeed. Thanks for your kind comment – I know my mom will appreciate 🙂

  2. sandy says:

    Well, you got some great photos while there was color. I am on the coast of Maine, too, but not too far up. I’ll bet Donald is further north, as I know they were going to have more wind. We fared fairly well in the storm, but the leaves are going fast now. Probably because we had three frosts this week.

    I have milkweed in the field, but no tussock caterpillars that I can find. That shot of juniper is lovely. We have only the kind that is one the ground.

  3. Cait says:

    Thank you, Sandy! I was wondering after Donald’s comment if all your leaves would be gone now too. It sounds like you will get a couple more days to see them. I love the ground junipers you describe. I’ve read they are supposed to represent protection.

  4. montucky says:

    Those are all beautiful fall shots! The colors are very nice, and the caterpillar is adorable!

    Happy birthday to your Mom!

  5. Barbara says:

    What gorgeous autumn colors you’re having! From the small fuzzy caterpillar to the huge flock of birds, thank you for sharing this delightful scenery. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a tussock caterpillar down here in Connecticut. Seeing the juniper triggered a twinge of excitement about Christmas/Yule. I bet it looks lovely covered in snow. We still have some trees with their green summer leaves, but a few are starting to turn so it won’t be long now… All in good time, as my grandparents used to say…

    • Cait says:

      Hi Barbara, I know what you mean, I’ve started looking forward to the beauty of snow too. Your grandparents sound like they were wise folks, it’s good to be reminded to be mindful of what’s happening right now.

  6. suraya says:

    hope i’ll be there soon..what a beautiful scenery.

  7. sandyhawkins says:

    Absolutely beautiful 🙂

  8. Wei says:

    Amazing colours! Can I ask some technical details of the shots? Trying to learn SLR, but couldn’t get a hang of it yet:-)

  9. Cait says:

    Thanks suraya, sandy and Wei! Wei, what sort of technical details? I know what you mean, it does take some time to figure out all the settings. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

