The mighty oaks

a frosty Oak leaf

Tonight marks the full Hunter’s Moon in the northern hemisphere. It has been getting colder, and snow was in our forecast for the first time this morning, but we didn’t get any.  Friends living in northern Ontario probably got some, though. I took some photos of the remaining leaves–Oaks and grape vine.

I finally made it to some higher ground, and this is what it looked like last week from a bird’s eye view. There were also many yellow Tamaracks mixed in with the rusty yellow and burgundy colours of the Oaks. I somehow forgot to bring the SLR, so unfortunately this one was taken with my cell phone camera (click on photo for a large image).

These rocky hills on the Canadian Shield are the closest we get to mountains around here!

“Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn.” – John Muir

Comments
53 Responses to “The mighty oaks”
  1. Sandy says:

    First of all, I am enjoying the music. Thank you!
    The close ups of the leaves look good. They remain me of satellite shots. Yes, I have a very good imagination.

    The sky in that last shot is just stunning, with all those colors.

  2. Barbara says:

    Leaves are so beautiful, even when decaying… I like the way they look, so utterly natural and woodsy, in your photos. It looks like the grape leaves are holding on a bit longer! Do you have any wineries in your area? The last picture looks like a peaceful painting, what a wonderful place to be. Thanks for sharing the beauty surrounding you!

    • Cait says:

      Thanks for your comment Barbara, the grape leaves are really hanging in, though most of them don’t look like the ones in my photo. Yes, there are wineries in the area, and apple orchards, too. The last photo was taken a couple hours to the north, not too far from Algonquin Park.

  3. montucky says:

    What pretty leaves! I really love the colors in the last photo: it’s very pretty!

  4. pp says:

    so beautiful

  5. Kathy Kaiser says:

    I love your close-up photos of the leaves, especially since in Colorado we don’t have any large native oaks (only scrub oaks).

  6. runtobefit says:

    I am so jealous…Texas is just way to hot and humid!! Great pictures!

    http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

  7. Beautiful images! No snow in the Kitchener-Waterloo area either…but lots of gorgeous changing colours. I adore the contrast in your first image.

  8. suraya says:

    wow..amazing pics..so beautiful! 🙂

  9. Irene says:

    Music? There’s music? How come I can’t hear any music? My speakers are on, nothing is muted…..waaaahhhhh………..I wanna hear the music!

    Ok, anyway, love the pictures! Fall is awesome for color, that’s for sure! But I love the distant scenic views of mountains! Must be very pretty where you live. Thanks for sharing!

  10. bguk73 says:

    Fantastic photos! I suppose next will be the snow swept hills 🙂

  11. rtcrita says:

    Oh, I love these images so much! Especially the first one with the turquoise blue peeking through the reds and greens of the leaf. How beautiful is that color?! I have been anxiously awaiting for the trees to change so I can capture some shots myself. Some of the trees are starting to turn now, and my front porch and stairs are beginning to be covered in the falling yellow leaves from the trees around my yard. I may set out this afternoon to find more, now that you have further inspired me!

    Thank you for sharing all of the images. Keep doing what you do!

  12. Beautiful post, spectacular images!

  13. gnarlyoak says:

    I love your pictures. They are so inspiring. I love writing about just those types of images… at least the California versions of them.

    http://gnarlyoak.wordpress.com/about/

  14. wadingacross says:

    I like trees, and oaks are pretty… unless you have them above your home and especially driveway.

    A note to people – if you have a choice, try not to have large trees next to your home which yearly drop nuts or seed balls. I’m surprised I haven’t been beaned by an acorn yet. I’ve sprained an ankle on “gumballs” – seed pod for a sweet gum tree (they make beautiful fall leaves, but otherwise are a nuisance.

  15. Thank you for the wonderful pictures. In northern Illinois, we are experiencing warm weather today but the high winds are on their way. I just hope warmer weather lasts through Halloween.

  16. Your photos are stunning! I also think the close-up shot looks like a satellite weather map. Thanks for sharing the lovely view.

  17. CrystalSpins says:

    Your cell phone camera is AMAZING! I love the fall, something about it is romantic to me. Thanks for the pictures — they feel like a love letter to me.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  18. Modern Funk says:

    I adore your leaf photos. I especially like the contrast between the turquoise sky and the earthy foliage. Beautiful shots!

  19. rossc90 says:

    Great shots. Fall is my favorite season.

  20. Evie Garone says:

    I LOVE THE FULL HUNTER’S MOON!!!!!!! Your pics of the leaves are so nice! I don’t see them anymore because I’m in Phoenix, so thanks for sharing, I don’t miss the cold & snow!

    evelyngarone.com

  21. cobi2 says:

    wonderful pictures! specially the one with the pine tree the clouds made me deream of my hometown and I made the desition to fly to visit Puerto Vallarta.

  22. Beautiful photography and a great blog! Nice to see the beauty of nature so exemplified out there on the web!

  23. My parents live in Eastern Ontario and I head out there as often as I can to get away from the busy Montreal life (especially this time of year!). I was there just this weekend and most of their trees have dropped their colourful outfits, but it’s still incredible to watch their horses and donkeys plod along over a yellow/orange/red carpet… makes me love Canada even more.

    Gorgeous pics and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    Drive on,
    – M.

  24. laura clifford says:

    You are an excellent photographer! Keep it up.

  25. donald says:

    great shots as always! with all the comments, guess you got linked again! nice to see more and more people finding your blog. hope they come back again and again!

  26. carlosmenau says:

    100%” beautiful.”

  27. Autumn.

    My favorite season.

    We had a gorgeous harvest moon last night, too.

    What could be better than that, except for a nice cool breeze.

  28. Well hello there! You’ve captured a beautiful time in this season …

  29. Kathy says:

    Very beautiful photos. You’re inspiring a lot of us! Thank you.

  30. Great photos. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  31. teaandcakegirl26 says:

    love your farm pictures….lived on a farm in Cornwall, England for 6 months and am completely in love with it. thank you for a lovely reminder of countryside 🙂

  32. Sunflowerdiva says:

    These pictures are beautiful. The blues are amazing. Your cell phone also has a really great camera! Autumn is my favorite season. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed!

  33. The Perfectly Imperfect One says:

    Beautiful pictures. Congrats on being freshly pressed 🙂

  34. Cait says:

    Thanks for coming by and for all the kind, wonderful comments everyone! 🙂

  35. Pamela says:

    Beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing. Especially loved the last shot!

  36. So glad I was surfing the net..Wonderful pictures!

  37. barb7802 says:

    Your photos are lovely. My sad attempts seem like a 3rd grader compared to yours. How far up was your climb? It is a spectacular view. Nice Post.

    http://cafetodaymyblog.wordpress.com/

  38. elmer says:

    beautiful photos. Lao Tzu comes to mind: Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.

  39. quotid says:

    I found this really beautiful and peaceful. I hope you continue taking such calming pictures and enjoying the fall weather! 🙂

  40. everythingneat says:

    Congratulations on being featured on Freshly Pressed!
    Your images are beautiful. We don’t get quite the same gorgeous colours in BC as you have. Fall is one of my favourite seasons and I love going taking pictures of the leaves in the trees and on the forest floor.

  41. glacierwave says:

    Beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing. I miss the reds of back east, now living in Alaska.

  42. Gorgeous. Never knew such a common tree could be so stunning.

  43. Congrats on the front page feature. I especially love the second photo. 🙂

  44. Beautiful pics !! Reminds me that not everything is lost despite the ups-and-downs. Congrats on getting freshly pressed.

  45. If I could be anything, I’d be a leaf…

  46. Cait, those photos are phenomenal. Getting that blue in there really makes them stand out from other autumn photos, all red and yellow-saturated. Great work!

  47. Cait says:

    Thanks again for the comments everyone! Irene, the music sandy was referring to was in the previous post. barb, the height of the cliff where the photo was taken is over 200ft.

  48. Cait, I just found your blog and I love it! Your photos are incredible! I’m a beginner, enjoying nature photography near my home in Georgia. I look forward to seeing more of your beautiful photos!

  49. springsparanormal says:

    Beautiful photos.I miss the different colors we had in New jersey.Colorado has some beautiful fall scenery but it is just not the same.thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

