The snow is falling

The first lingering snowfall this weekend turned the area around our little cabin into a winter wonderland. It’s a rustic little place not too far from Algonquin Park, some distance from the road, with no electricity or running water. It has a wood stove, propane oven, and a solar panel to run a radio and a light. I lived there for several years before moving to the farmhouse. It was built with the help of some kind friends, a book, and the wisdom of a few old-timers in a local coffee shop.

The windows and doors were recycled from the old house I grew up in and everything was done with hand tools and a chainsaw. It still isn’t completely finished and while it’s a continual battle to keep the mice and squirrels from taking it over completely, I always appreciate the simplicity and peacefulness of the place. Since I didn’t have a digital camera back then, I don’t have many photos of the area, but I hope to change that and visit more often.

The river below the cabin was open, with many ducks, but unfortunately I scared them away and didn’t get a good look. On summer evenings, all you can hear down there is the slap of beaver tails, and occasionally something larger, taking a dip in the water.

I went for a walk down the road to photograph the trees.

And while we found evidence of bears, this was the only one in sight!

“Take long walks in stormy weather or through deep snows in the fields and woods, if you would keep your spirits up. Deal with brute nature. Be cold and hungry and weary.”- Henry David Thoreau (On the Duty of Civil Disobedience)

Comments
26 Responses to “The snow is falling”
  1. missusk76 says:

    A quiet little cabin in the bush is my dream home. The images are wonderful, especially the one of the river. Thank you for sharing this place! It’s blowing sharp snow here today, I rather wish it would just come and dump, because the scrapes and hard drifts that are left from our last storm are unsightly now and the plants are ready for their blanket.

    • Cait says:

      Oh my, it sounds like you’re getting quite a bit of snow, and with the wind it must not be easy traveling weather. Thanks for the kind words, and hope you get your own little cabin in the woods sometime soon!

  2. Sandy says:

    It is so beautiful! Today looked like we could get snow, but it wasn’t quite cold enough.
    I am jealous of that cabin.

    • Cait says:

      Thank you, Sandy! The farmhouse isn’t getting snow either, even though it’s not that far from the cabin. Oh well, soon enough I suppose! Winter is my favourite season at the cabin (and spring before the black flies emerge). For some reason I have only just discovered your haiku blog – it looks great!

  3. montucky says:

    What a beautiful place that is! The photos are wonderful to see… just enchanting! Now you have made me anxious for the snow to come!

  4. Cait says:

    Thanks montucky, and I can’t wait to see the snow on your beautiful landscapes!

  5. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Very beautiful! Leaves me missing Alaska a bit. Wonder if we’ll see snow in Georgia this year…

  6. Cait says:

    Hi Oregon Sunshine, thank you! I didn’t realize Georgia ever got snow. What an adjustment that must have been, going from Alaska to Georgia. Appreciate you stopping by!

    • Oregon Sunshine says:

      I come to Georgia from Alaska via Oregon. Side-tracked for a couple years. 😉

      Yes, supposedly N. Georgia sees snow. Last year, Atlanta was covered in about 3′ of snow from what we’ve heard. That’s supposed to be unusual. We’ve been here since the end of June and waiting to see what our first winter brings. So far, this weekend brought us freezing temps at night and crunch grass in the mornings, but it’s not supposed to last.

      • Cait says:

        Wow, 3′ is no joke! I had no idea. You must really not know what to expect then. What a beautiful trip it must have been via Oregon, I could see getting side-tracked for a while!

  7. donald says:

    We had a light snowfall just like that last weekend here on the downeast Maine coast. Guess it won’t be long before the real stuff flies! The pictures are magical, thank you!

  8. Cait says:

    Thanks so much for reading and leaving such wonderful comments, donald! I’m always amazed at how similar our weather seems to be. I imagine all the birds have passed through and the skies are quieter on the Maine coast now.

    • donald says:

      with several coastal storms in the past couple weeks, that skies are hardly quieter! but we have has some very magical sunrises and sunsets!

      • donald says:

        sorry about the bad grammar, guess i should reread things before pushing post! it should read “the skies” and “we have had”!

        • Cait says:

          You’ve gotten some huge storms recently….I should have said the birds are quieter, not the skies! Yes, stormy weather sure does make for beautiful sunrises and sunsets.

  9. esperanza says:

    very beautiful picture!!!

  10. esperanza says:

    very romantic place the pine trees with the snow wish was there here in Arizona we get some snow in Flagstaff AZ

  11. What wonderfully evocative images of a landscape turning between seasons. I can hear the footfalls upon snow from here…thanks for these, Cait.

    • Cait says:

      Hi Julian, I’m glad the pictures could take you there for a moment. You must have many memories of Canadian winters. I’ve heard this one is supposed to be a winter “like they used to be,” so hopefully that means lots of snow and less ice. Thanks so much for coming by!

  12. Barbara says:

    Cait, how fortunate you are to have a little place in the woods and to be surrounded by an enchanting winter wonderland. I love the Thoreau quote you used. Here’s another one for you: “The spruce, the hemlock and the pine will not countenance despair… Surely joy is the condition of life.” ~ Henry David Thoreau (Excursions) I love taking walks in the snow and the way hemlocks gently support the snow. When I was little I’d linger in the snow in the woods around our house at dusk until my mother blew her whistle letting me know it was time to go in. Do you ever go snow-shoeing? I’ve always wanted to try that some day. The picture you got walking down the road is magical. You’ve stirred up some pleasant memories with your wonderful photographs…

  13. Cait says:

    Thanks for the great quote, Barbara, you always find such perfect ones. There are a lot of hemlock trees by the river, and I agree, they are so beautiful. It’s nice you’ve gotten some snow, too. Yes, we do snowshoe – you must try it, it’s a lot of fun! It’s perfect for people who like to meander about as they explore the woods. Wonderful to hear from you as always!

  14. lisa says:

    These photos are gorgeous — it makes me excited for our winter to arrive in Pittsburgh (despite how brutal it can be!). There is something comforting about being bundled-up, watching movies or reading a good book inside while the world outside is covered in snow.

    • Cait says:

      Hi Lisa, thank you for your comment and for coming by! I love the coziness of wintertime, too. That bit of snow got me excited, too, but lately it has gone back to feeling more like spring around here.

  15. What beautiful photographs! Wish I was there . . . love to go walking when it’s snowed. Where I live now we rarely get any, and then only up on the mountains.

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

