April wildflowers

These are a few photos from my walks over the last few weeks. Right now, some short-lived wildflowers are adorning deciduous forest floors, making the most of the sunlight before the leaves come out.

These beautiful white wildflowers are called Bloodroot, and like the others in this post, are native to Ontario.

The photos above and below are both of Round-Lobed Hepatica (from the Buttercup family), which are growing in clumps among fallen oak leaves.

I found all of these wildflowers growing near each other, with Trout Lilies being the most abundant.

The aptly named Spring Beauty (narrow-leaved).

This is the first week for the Trout Lilies here, I only found a couple in bloom.

Comments
18 Responses to “April wildflowers”
  1. montucky says:

    All of your photos are excellent! The Bloodroot is a very pretty blossom: I wish we had them in this area. THe Hepatica is a beautiful little flower, another one that we don’t have in this area. The Spring Beauty is similar to one that we do have here and I look forward to seeing them every spring. The Trout Lily is similar to the Glacier Lily we have here, and I saw thousands of them today: they are at their peak bloom.

    • Our Spring Beauty does look quite similar to yours. Your wildflower photos are very inspiring! Interesting to see the variations between our places. I see many on your site that we don’t have here. Thanks for your comment, montucky!

  2. Simply wonderful! The essence and urgency of spring seen in the delicate petals amidst last year’s leaves. Thanks, Cait!

  3. donald says:

    you must be getting some warmer temperatures there in ontario than we are here on the coast of maine. not much in the way of wild flower blooms here. great shots. and i can’t wait for more to be blooming here.

  4. Pretty and exotic-looking! So much beauty in early spring!

  5. sandy says:

    Wow, so many, and so pretty! I have never seen blood root, hepatica, or spring beauties here. The only trout lilies were at Wolf Neck Park, up the coast. Do these grow near water?

    • Sandy, they are all growing in a low-lying area, adjacent to a marsh, so the ground (clay) probably holds more moisture there. It was great to find so much variety in one place, thanks!

  6. Lisa says:

    I love how you can see the tiny little ‘hairs’ on the hepatica. My husband and I are going to check out some wildflowers at a state park this weekend – this post makes me excited to see what treasures we’ll find.

    • Apparently the ‘hairs’ help them survive the cold temperatures of early spring. That sounds like a great trip, Lisa, I’m sure you’ll find many treasures! Happy travels 🙂

  7. missusk76 says:

    Oh, you lucky, lucky lady. My favourite things. And you have captured some truly beautiful images of them. Not that any of these particular wildflowers are native to parts near me. I’m so impatient, but have at least another month until I see any wild flowers. I’ll happily fill up on yours for a while if you don’t mind.

    • Thanks Cindy! I really enjoy following spring, and the seasons in general, through other people’s blogs. It will be fun to watch it unfold in your more northern home, and through the incredible photos you take.

  8. Barbara says:

    I’m trying to figure out how I clicked the “like” button here some time ago and yet didn’t leave a comment! The little wildflowers look so pretty and cheerful popping up through the brown leaves! Looking forward to seeing more tiny wonders your camera will find as spring progresses!

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

