Dragonflies and damselflies

I’ve been following dragonflies and damselflies these past couple of unbelievably hot days. The telephoto lens made it possible to get shots of dragonflies that wouldn’t tolerate me being closer than 3 or 4 feet. Most White-faced Meadowhawks and damselflies didn’t mind the macro lens coming close to them. Maybe they don’t mind me being around because I arrive with a cloud of mosquitoes around my head.

Blue Dasher (male)

Some interesting facts about dragonflies from researcher, Steve Brooks: While dragonflies have been on earth for the past 250 million years, their ancestors date back 300 million years. These predecessors to our modern day dragonflies had wing spans of up to 1 metre. Dragonflies with the largest eyes are those that fly at dusk or dawn, and those that live in heavily forested areas of the tropics. The fastest speed ever recorded by a dragonfly is 38 km/hr.

Slaty Skimmer (male)

Below are two damselflies, called Bluets – I think the one on the book is a female.

For more dragonflies, see this post:  Dragonflies of the arch.

Sources:

Brooks, S. (nd). A Natural History of Dragonflies, Mayflies and Stoneflies: http://www.nhm.ac.uk/resources-rx/files/25_feat_nat_hist_dragonflies-3026.pdf

Note: The owners of referenced or linked-to materials do not endorse me or this site.

Comments
22 Responses to “Dragonflies and damselflies”
  1. Incredible photos!!!! I love the telephoto lens… you can see every detail of those dragonflies. Great facts also!

  2. Meanderer says:

    Wow – what amazing shots of these beautiful creatures! The detail is fantastic. I like them all but I especially like the Slaty Skimmer with its violet colouring.

    I hope you get a bit of relief from the extreme weather soon.

  3. sandy says:

    Wow, I am so impressed! I like every one of them. So, that is what a slaty skimmer male looks like! I have photographed a female, but never seen a male.

    Love the blue dasher pose.

    • I’d never seen a male (or female) Slaty Skimmer before either. This was one I couldn’t get very close to. Recently it has perched on the same stick each evening – I guess he has staked out his territory! Thanks a lot Sandy!

  4. Montucky says:

    What a terrific series of photos! I love the dragons, but have seen very few here this summer. It’s very nice to see yours!

  5. donald says:

    welcome back! great shots as always. hope you are enjoying the rest and relaxation!

  6. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Blue dragonflies – what marvelous wonders! Your closeups are a feast for my eyes, Cait… Exquisite, just lovely!

  7. Sybil says:

    Nothing I can say that hasn’t been said by others … so I’ll just say … “ditto”.

  8. missusk76 says:

    Holy camoley! These are amazing! And very beautiful.

  9. Beautiful shots! I especially love the first one – great depth of field!

  10. chris says:

    These photos are gorgeous! I’ve been experimenting, trying to find the best way to take close-ups of insects. It isn’t easy because they rarely sit still for my camera. Well, the beetles do, but dragonflies are more of a challenge.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Dragonflies & Damselflies […]

  2. […] Dragonflies & Damselflies […]



Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

