View from the field

Morning Mist, October 9, 2011

 “Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.” – John Muir

The Moon, night of October 9, 2011

There was still the odd Monarch flying about the field during this summer-like autumn weekend, along with the more abundant (and cold-hardy) smaller butterflies, Cabbage Whites and Clouded Sulphurs.

Monarch

I was surprised to also find a Buckeye and an American Painted Lady. I think this is the first time I’ve ever seen one of these striking butterflies. When the Buckeye’s wings are closed, they camoflage well with fallen leaves.

Buckeye

American Painted Lady

Comments
28 Responses to “View from the field”
  1. SO beautiful, Cait! I absolutely love all these photos and the quote. The moon photo is the best I have ever seen!

  2. Great shots of the buckeye!

  3. Rebecca says:

    I’ve been surprised by the number of butterflies active here, too, in the past week – Milbert’s Tortoiseshells, among others. Gorgeous photos, as always. (And funnily enough, I posted that exact Muir quote on the Facebook page of the school where I work today.)

  4. Fergiemoto says:

    Beautiful! I like them all. The macro shots are awesome!

  5. montucky says:

    This is a gorgeous series of photos!

  6. Meanderer says:

    Really beautiful images. I love the golden misty view in the first photograph.

  7. Lisa says:

    The moon photo left me breathless, wow. I could climb into it and stay there. So beautiful.

  8. sandy says:

    Wow, many times. Did you feel the magic of that golden mist??

  9. These photos leave me speechless Cait! Just lovely! The detail is truly awesome. By the way, I love that quote. 🙂

  10. A marvellous collection, Cait, to wonderfully accompany the terrific quote of Muir. Thank you for this taste of your season.

    • Much appreciated, Julian! By the way, I’m in the middle of reading your story at terrain.org. As someone commented, it’s no wonder that you won the nonfiction contest. Such great story-telling as always.

  11. Wow! The moon photo is extraordinary!! Love the Muir quote… The sharp details of the horse’s head and the expression on its face – awesome! And of course, the butterflies are lovely, as usual…

  12. Donald says:

    Thanks for the magical, mystical tour!

  13. Sheryl says:

    Beautiful – your photos are a treat to view. The detail in ‘The Moon’ shot is incredible!! The ‘Morning Mist’ shows me once again the gorgeous spot where you live and play.

  14. missusk76 says:

    October 10th? I see you’re almost as bad as me. I want just a few more hours in a day.

    This is a beautiful series. Wonderful, eclectic observations from a comfortable place. Beautiful studies in light and air and colour – in nature.

    I hope all is well with you and like me, you’ve just temporarily re-prioritized.

    All the best,
    Cindy

    • Hi Cindy, thanks for such a thoughtful comment. Yes, other things have come up and I haven’t had time for photography lately. Things will shift again, though, they always do. Take care, and I look forward to seeing your views of nature when you have a chance.

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

