Flight

“Birds make great sky-circles of their freedom.
How do they learn it?
They fall and falling,
they’re given wings.”
– Rumi

This is one of the Osprey’s that live in a nest about a mile away from our house. It frequents our field, pausing to eat fish in the old Shagbark Hickory tree.

A female Bobolink (see the male here). She looked so different with her feathers all puffed up, it’s hard to believe the photo below is the same bird.

The Barn Swallow chicks left the nest on July 1st this year. Here they are on June 22nd.  The other Barn Swallow nest was, and still is, inhabited by a House Wren family. They did some renovations, adding many twigs on top of the existing mud nest.

Comments
27 Responses to “Flight”
  1. seekraz says:

    Beautiful photos, as always. Thank you.

  2. montucky says:

    I envy your photos of the Osprey. I’ve never been able to get a good photo of one. The Bobolink photos are really cool. What a contrast! And the swallows are so cute! We have several in residence but I haven’t seen any fledgelings yet.

  3. skadhu says:

    Wonderful shots. I’m envious of your ability to catch a bird on the wind. (That was going to be “wing” but I decided the typo worked.) The puffy bobolink is so hilarious I thought it was a chick. But I think my favourite is the last one of the single barn swallow chick. It looks so… pompous and goofy at the same time.

    • Thanks skadhu, hopefully I can repeat catching a bird on the wind (that’s a really nice phrase). I don’t know the theory behind why birds puff up, but after the bobolink sang for awhile, her feathers settled down. Yes, the barn swallow chicks were goofy looking, weren’t they!

  4. donald says:

    great shots of the the osprey. we have many of them here on the coast, but i can never get a good shot of them. happy summer to you!

    • Happy summer to you too, donald! Yes, you must see them all the time out your way. There are nesting platforms for them on top of hydro poles in several places near here, so we are lucky to have them around as well.

  5. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful shots – I especially like the ospreys in flight; wonderful.

  6. sandy says:

    Loved the baby bobolink, just because it is so cute. All of the photos are very good.

  7. Lisa says:

    the baby birds are incredible – their tiny little mouths! but that moon shot is my favorite – it’s as if you were floating in space, close enough to capture it.

  8. Hi Cait, the osprey photos are wonderful! He or she is looking at you! The bobolink is cute. Her markings and beak look very much like a house finch. But the female house finch is gray.

  9. I’ve been focus on flight myself lately since the gift of a telephoto lens from my parents. Haven’t had much success with birds in flight, but having fun and I would be thrilled to have taken any of these wonderful photos. I especially love the last one – made me smile.

  10. Love the Osprey photos!

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

