How to survive a heat wave

Practice tai chi (crane spreads wings) in a waterfall

The Great Blue Heron in the photo comes to fish at the base of the waterfall on most days, and the Mallards spend their time in calmer waters, a little further down river.

The heron was so patiently waiting for a fish, but didn’t catch anything while I was there this afternoon.

Many of the ducks had their beaks tucked under their feathers, despite the heat. Does anyone know why they’d do this? I always thought it was a way to keep warm.

Comments
35 Responses to “How to survive a heat wave”
  1. skadhu says:

    Cait, that first photo in particular is absolutely stunning. That’s a definite prizewinner.

    (And I’ve no idea why the ducks tuck their beaks in hot weather.)

  2. nonoymanga says:

    Excellent wild life photography!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  3. montucky says:

    There just are not enough superlatives in my vocabulary to describe that first photo!

  4. sybil says:

    I agree with Skadhu. That first photo is a stunner !!! Happily the heat wave was brief here on the eastern shore of Canada …

  5. sandy says:

    The first shot blew me away! What a wonder series of photos! I’ll bet you stayed cool during this shoot, too.

  6. seekraz says:

    I agree with all of the above about that first photograph…beautiful, stunning…great capture…truly incredible shot. Well done, Cait. 🙂

  7. Meanderer says:

    The first image has a beautiful painterly feel to it. It’s lovely.

  8. Fergiemoto says:

    Wow, great photos! That first photo is absolutely stunning – it needs to be framed! WOW!

  9. Lisa says:

    You have such a gift for capturing the art of nature – beautiful!

  10. Sheryl Millar says:

    Your photos are beautiful, I always look forward to checking them out. The ducklings are adorable!!!
    You sure are talented

  11. Jess says:

    Love the pictures, you’re showing us here. Especially, the pictures of the crane, more then stunning. Looking forward to read more of your stories and to see more of those stunning pictures!

  12. I always enjoy reading the comments ahead of me, this time hoping to find the answer to your question but all I found was just exactly what I was going to say: that your images are beautiful and the first one is just Stunning! (I wish I could think of a less cliche superlative, but Stunning it is.)

  13. Heather says:

    I’m with everyone else on that first picture. Completely blew me away! Really beautiful shots. I know I wouldn’t mind standing in a waterfall on some of the days we’ve been having here in Manitoba. As for the duck question, I’m not sure, but it may work both ways. The beak is one of the few parts of the body that isn’t insulated and can gain heat just as easily as it loses it. By tucking it into the feathers, they may actually be protecting it from overheating in the hot weather. Just a guess, though. Gorgeous photographs. Stay cool!

  14. Excellent photo essay! Well-done! 🙂

  15. krikitarts says:

    I know I’m really late here, but I’m struggling to catch up and have to let you know that your shot of the heron doing the tai chi dance is simply exquisite. Beautiful work, Cait!

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

