Prehistoric

 

©farmhousestories.wordpress (13)June 13/14

“Very little grows on jagged rock. Be ground. Be crumbled, so wildflowers will come up where you are.” – Rumi

|| There has been a snapping turtle laying her eggs on the side of the road by our house since yesterday. I went to take some photos of her this morning with the telephoto lens, as I didn’t want to get very close and disturb her (and of course there are other perfectly valid reasons not to get too close to a snapping turtle!). If they survive our world and live out their natural lives, snapping turtles live to be around 70 years old (ontarionature.org).

©farmhousestories.wordpress (12) ©farmhousestories.wordpress (10) ©farmhousestories.wordpress (11) ©farmhousestories.wordpress©farmhousestories.wordpress.com

Comments
16 Responses to “Prehistoric”
  1. Amy says:

    I adore this quote! Had never heard it before. Thank you for sharing! Such an interesting post. Your peony bud and poppy photos are lovely. xo

  2. sybil says:

    I fear for her babies when they hatch as the scurry across that road. Wonderful photos of an indomitable creature.

    • Yes, I fear for them, too. But as my partner pointed out, they don’t have to cross the road to get to the creek, so hopefully they’ll go the right way. Thank you, Sybil, indomitable for sure!

  3. Lisa Comeau says:

    Thank you for the wonderful Rumi quote and thank you for the beautiful photos! xo

  4. Heather says:

    How awesome! I’ve always wanted to see a snapping turtle nest. I’ve come close to having the chance a few times, but no luck so far. Terrific photos. I hope you get to see the babies when they hatch.

    • Thank you, Heather! Around here it seems that it’s quite common to see them nesting, but I’ve never seen them hatch, that would be so cool. I can’t believe how long she was there for, I was sure I’d missed my chance to take photos.

  5. skadhu says:

    Glad to see you posting again! Lovely photos—well worth the wait. Seeing the shots of the turtle is a real treat. How long till they hatch? You’ll have to start surveilling the nest and preparing your camera…

    • Thanks skadhu! Hope all is well out on the coast. Heather could probably tell us more about how long it will take for them to hatch. I’ve read that it’s sometime in the fall. Yes, I will try to keep an eye out for them! She finished nesting tonight and made it safely back to the pond.

      • skadhu says:

        Thanks Cait, all is good out here—we’re moving from spring into full summer on the gulf islands, i.e. the fire hazard is steadily going up and plant-things aren’t growing quite so fast. I seem to be having an allergic skin reaction to something on our property (weeds? grass? trees? the dirt I’ve been shovelling from one place to another? the debris swept off the shed roof? argh! so much to choose from!) so taking a break from yard/garden work, of which there is a LOT, till it starts to settle down. Oh well, enforced relaxation… it could be worse…

        • That’s a drag about the allergic reactions. I hope they settle down fast. Yes. Enforced relaxation can be a positive thing 🙂 Sorry so long to reply, I thought I had, but it doesn’t seem to have ever appeared.

  6. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    I hope her eggs have better luck than those I found on our road while walking the dog a few years ago… They were excavated and consumed within 48 hours (by some lucky skunk or raccoon, I assume):

  7. Tis the season for Snappers to be out and about! Great photos!

Leave a Reply

  • "Not knowing when the dawn will come, I open every door."
    - Emily Dickinson



  • All content is Copyright ©farmhousestories.wordpress.com, 2010-2011 (unless otherwise stated).

